So today was payday.  And now I get to look forward to the next one. Sigh.  I take my hat off to anyone working a zero hour casual contact.  I don’t think I’m cut out for it.  I’m awake every morning before 5am, wondering what I need to do to be work ready for the day, just in case I get called in.  Then I usually manage another hours sleep between 7 and 8am.  Once everyone else has left the house and I’m not in their way, I get up and have my cuppa and breakfast. I try to get this done before 9am.  Prime “can you work today” call time is between 9am and 11am.  I’m usually safe to go about my day after 11am… Not that I usually have or make any plans.

Today was the perfect example of “a day in the life of”.  I was up and breakfasted by 9am and basically fluffed around doing sweet f all until 11am when I hit the shower.  I had some errands to run today so I packed a bag, leashed a Daisy and walked out the door.  We went to the ATM, the vet and then back to Discovery Park. I was prepared with tennis balls this time and Daisy had the time of her life chasing balls in the huge space.  I was game enough to have a go on the outdoor gym equipment too, but gave up when I couldn’t even budge the butterfly press machine!

After a very exhausted dog and I got home, I did my house chores (washing, dishes, etc) and listened to my book for a while.  About 3pm I took Daisy to the pool area for a run around while I swam.  The pool was a bit cool to get into, but as usual (after a while) I didn’t want to get out.  Once we had returned to the house, I fell asleep almost immediately.  I totally understand the need for a siesta on a hot day!!! 

And now it’s back to bed time.  I’m not rostered on for the rest of this week so I get to play the game again tomorrow morning – will I or won’t I get the call.  And what will I fill the hours in with if I don’t have to work? Time to start working on my see the Gold Coast list… Starting with the free things to do!!